About Us – The Foundation

The Foundation

Funding for the Global Peace Initiative is being organized by the Brahmananda Saraswati Foundation (USA) and the Brahmananda Saraswati Trust (the Netherlands).

These organizations were founded by Maharishi Mahesh Yogi—the founder of the Transcendental Meditation program and the principal architect of the Global Peace Initiative. The organizations are named in honor of Maharishi’s teacher, Brahmananda Saraswati, one of the world’s most highly revered spiritual leaders, who served as Shankaracharya of Jyotir Math, India—the chief representative of the Vedic tradition of knowledge.

The Brahmananda Saraswati Foundation and Trust are non-religious and charitable organizations. They are overseen by an international board of scientists, educators and business leaders from around the world.

Brahmananda Saraswati Foundation (USA)

The Brahmananda Saraswati Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization in the U.S. Donations are tax-deductible for U.S. taxpayers . Its mission is to provide funding for the training and support of the peace-creating experts and to establish a permanent endowment that will ensure their ongoing support. This includes overseeing a worldwide fundraising program, receiving donations, and managing the investment of the endowment fund. The Foundation directs and monitors all disbursements to its managing partners in India to ensure that the goals of the project are achieved.

Brahmananda Saraswati Trust

Established in the Netherlands in 2008, the Brahmananda Saraswati Trust shares the same goals as the Foundation with a focus on the EU community plus Middle Eastern, African and Asian countries.

Both organizations have the same executive management structure.

President of Brahmananda Saraswati Foundation

Tony Nader, MD PhD (President)

Dr. Nader is a medical doctor trained at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Ph.D. in neuroscience) and Harvard University, and a globally recognised Vedic scholar. As Maharishi Mahesh Yogi’s successor, Dr Nader is head of the international Transcendental Meditation® organisations in over 100 countries. Dr Nader guides the Transcendental Meditation programme and its advanced practices to fulfill the highest aspirations of society in all areas of national life.

Executive Committee of Brahmananda Saraswati Foundation and Trust

Bevan Morris, DSCI (Chairman, Board of Directors of BSF)

Educator and International President of Maharishi Universities of Management worldwide

Harris Kaplan, DSCI (Chairman, Board of Directors of BST and CEO of BSF & BST)

Retired Investment Fund Manager, founder and former CEO, Eastgate Financial Services Ltd., USA

John Hagelin, PhD

Quantum physicist and educator; President, Global Union of Scientists for Peace;
President, Maharishi International University, USA

Steven Rubin

Retired business executive, former Chairman and CEO, United Fuels International Inc., USA

Robert LoPinto

Retired Businessman
Rockville, MD, USA

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee oversees the investment of the endowment funds as well as the granting and accounting procedures involved in disbursing the funds to the organizations implementing the project in India. The Foundation and Trust have put in place financial and operational controls to ensure the project’s success and to provide their donors with complete financial reporting. The organizations maintain a system of detailed grant request and grant reports, including audits, from the recipient Indian organizations, as well as a team for on-site progress verification.








Members of the Finance Committee

Finance Committee for BSF and BST

Harris Kaplan, D.S.C.I (Chairman)

Retired Investment Fund Manager
Founder and former CEO of Eastgate Financial Services Ltd., USA

Robert LoPinto

Retired Businessman
Rockville, MD, USA

Jeffrey S. Abramson

Real Estate Developer
Partner, Tower Companies, USA

Bradford Cooke, M.Sc.

Business Executive
CEO, Endeavour Silver Corp., Canada

Steve Rubin

Retired business executive
Former Chairman and CEO, United Fuels International Inc., USA

Brahmananda Saraswati Foundation Board of Directors

Board Members

Executive Committee

  • Dr. Bevan Morris – Educator
    Maharishi Vedic City, Iowa

  • John Hagelin. Ph.D. – Quantum Physicist and Educator
    Fairfield, IA, USA

  • Dr. Harris Kaplan – Businessman and Administrator
    Vlodrop, Netherlands

  • Robert LoPinto – Businessman and Administrator
    Rockville, MD, USA

  • Steve Rubin – Businessman and Administrator
    Sebastian, FL, USA

    Board Members

    • Jose Luis Alvares – Administrator
      Barcelona, Spain

    • Antonio Bartolomé – Businessman
      Banastás, Huesca, Spain

    • Dr. Leslie Brooks, M.A. – Administrator
      Lincoln, MA, USA

    • Howard Martin Chandler, Ph.D. – Educator
      Boston, MA , USA

    • Rafael David – Business Entrepreneur
      Vero Beach, FL, USA

    • Dr. Arlene Kaplan – Administrator
      Vlodrop, The Netherlands

    • Dr. Neil Paterson – Administrator
      Salt Spring Island, Canada

    • Rainer Picha, M.D. – Cardiologist and Research Scientist
      Vienna, Austria

    • Dr. Susie Swan – Administrator and Graphic Artist
      Netherlands and Cape Town, South Africa

    • Maureen Wynne, J.D. – Attorney
      Maharishi Vedic City, IA, USA

  • Global Peace Initiative
    Brahmananda Saraswati Foundation and Brahmananda Saraswati Trust

    Entire contents © 2012 - 2021 Brahmananda Saraswati Foundation and Brahmananda Saraswati Trust, both non-profit organizations. All rights reserved. Transcendental Meditation, TM, TM-Sidhi, Maharishi Jyotish, Maharishi Yagya, Maharishi National, Maharishi Special, Yogic Flying, Maharishi Vedic are protected trademarks in many countries around the world, including the United States and the European Union.